Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Bankruptcy Section
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (17) posts »

The Atlanta Lawyer Bankruptcy Update

Posted By Kristyn Girardeau, Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Bankruptcy Section
By M. Regina Thomas
United States Bankruptcy Court

A joint Spring Social of the Litigation, Bankruptcy and Public Interest Law Sections of the Atlanta Bar Association was held April 27, 2017 at Second Self Beer Company.  Members enjoyed networking, beer tasting and brewery routs at one of Atlanta’s most popular venues.

The Annual Spring CLE and Pollard Award Luncheon was held Thursday, May 11, 2017 at the Capital City Club Downtown.  Over 50 CLE attendees enjoyed an excellent program featuring presentations on Hot Topics in 523 and 727 Dischargeability Actions (Ashley D. Champion, Howard P. Slomka and Bruce Z. Walker), Chapter 13 Model Plan Update (Hon. Lisa Ritchey Craig, Melissa Davey, Alex Dolhancyk, Regina Thomas and Nancy J. Whaley) and Recent Trends in Student Loan Dischargeability Cases (Hon, Wendy L. Hagenau, Nate Juster, Shayna M. Steinfeld and Gregory M. Taube).   

Following the CLE program, Grant T. Stein of Alston & Bird, was honored with the prestigious David W. Pollard Award, which is given annually to a member of the Atlanta Bar who best exemplifies the highest standards of professionalism and ethics in the bankruptcy practice.  Mr. Stein was introduced by his mentor, and inaugural recipient of the Pollard Award in 1994, the Hon. W. Homer Drake, Jr. of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia.  Mr. Stein began his legal career as a law clerk for Judge Drake over 35 years ago.  In his acceptance remarks, Mr. Stein thanked the Board of the Atlanta Bar Bankruptcy Section, colleagues at Alston & Bird, and many others.  He shared this special event with his wife, Janet M. Stein and son, Joshua Stein, who is a law clerk for the Hon. Lisa Ritchey Craig, and a large contingent of colleagues from the bankruptcy community. 

During her remarks, as outgoing Bankruptcy Section Chair, Alison Elko Franklin,   announced that the Bankruptcy Section was named the recipient of the 2016-2017 Small Section of the Year Award to be presented by the Atlanta Bar at its Annual Muncheon on May 23, 2017.  This honor follows one received earlier in the year when the Bankruptcy Section was awarded the 2016 Community Service Award presented by the Atlanta Bar Association at its Celebrating Service awards luncheon on October 21, 2016.  It has been a tremendously successful year for the Bankruptcy Section and Ms. Frankin was recognized for her outstanding leadership.

The Officers and Board members for the 2017-2018 year are:  Jeffery W. Cavender 
(Chair), Sage M. Sigler (Chair Elect), B. Sumer Chandler (Secretary), Melissa Davey (Treasurer), Alison Elko Franklin (Immediate Past Chair), Vania Allen, Sameer K. Kapoor, Alexandra Schnapp, Howie Slomka, Gregory Taube, Bruce Walker, and Doroteya Wozniak (Members at large).  

Many thanks to the outgoing 2016-2017 Officers and Board members for their dedication and service to the Bankruptcy Section:  Ron Bingham, John Mills and M. Regina Thomas. 

If you have ideas or suggestions for Bankruptcy Section activities or projects, please contact any of the officers or board members.  We look forward to a great year and welcome your participation.


This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal