Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Bankruptcy Section
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (17) posts »

Bankruptcy Update: September 2017

Posted By By B. Summer Chandler, Visiting Assistant Professor, Georgia State University College of Law ​, Tuesday, September 19, 2017

The Bankruptcy Section is pleased to announce that the Honorable Judge W. Homer Drake, Jr. has been selected to receive the American Inns of Court Foundation and Bankruptcy Inns Alliance Distinguished Service Award for 2017. The award will be presented to Judge Drake on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 8:45 a.m. as the opening part of that day’s session at the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges. Judge Drake’s long-standing dedication to professionalism and civility made him a natural choice for this honor. 


Registration is now open for the next Bankruptcy Section Breakfast, which will take place on Wednesday, September 20, 2017 from 7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. The event will be held at the offices of Troutman Sanders, LLP. The breakfast will include a presentation by criminal defense attorney R. Alexander Susor, entitled, “Traffic Stops: What Not to Do When You Get Pulled Over. Tips from a Criminal Defense Attorney.” We hope you will join us.


Registration is also open for the program entitled, “Everything You Need to Know About the New Chapter 13 Plan.” In this program, several judges and members of the Bankruptcy Court's Bench & Bar Committee will be presenting on the new Chapter 13 plan that will take effect in the Northern District of Georgia on December 1, 2017. The event will be held at the offices of Nelson Mullins on Wednesday, September 27, 2017 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.


Please save the dates for the following events.

· The Bankruptcy Section’s Annual Fall Social will be held on Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at JCT Kitchen. Judge Ray Mullins, Chief Judge of the Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia, will be honored at the event.

· The Bankruptcy and Commercial Law Year in Review CLE program will be held on Friday, January 26, 2018 at the Capital City Club Downtown.

· The Bankruptcy Section 2018 David W. Pollard Award & Spring CLE Program will be held on Thursday, May 17, 2018. The event will take place at the Ansley Golf Club.


The Officers and Board members for the 2017-2018 year are:  Jeffery Cavender (Chair), Sage Sigler (Chair-Elect), B. Summer Chandler (Secretary), Melissa Davey (Treasurer), Alison Elko Franklin (Immediate Past Chair), Vania Allen, Sameer Kapoor, Howie Slomka, CC Schnapp, Gregory Taube, Bruce Walker, Doroteya Wozniak (Members at large). 


If you have any proposals for Bankruptcy Section activities or projects, please contact any of the officers or board members. We look forward to another great year and welcome your participation.

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal