Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Bankruptcy Section
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (22) posts »

The Atlanta Lawyer Bankruptcy Update: June/July 2019

Posted By Jordan Coleman, Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Bankruptcy Section

By Doroteya N. Wozniak

James Bates Brannan Groover LLP


On May 16, 2019, the Bankruptcy Section hosted its annual David W. Pollard Award Luncheon and Spring CLE Program at Ansley Golf Club honoring Alison Elko Franklin (Dentons US LLP). The event was well attended by over eighty members of the Bankruptcy Section and began with a three-part CLE presented by distinguished speakers on the topics of Judgement “How To’s,” the Role of In-House Counsel, and Alternative Dispute Resolution.


Michael Bargar, Bankruptcy Section Member at Large (Arnall Golden Gregory LLP), Leon Jones (Jones & Walden, LLC), and the Honorable Lisa Ritchey Craig, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Georgia presented Judgment “How To’s” and discussed how to revive judgments, avoid judicial liens, and handle choses in action. The Role of In-House Counsel panel was moderated by Melissa J. Davey, Bankruptcy Section Chair (Standing Chapter 13 Trustee), and included Yendelela Neely Holston (Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP), Kevin Hembree, (Georgia-Pacific LLC), and Jonathan C. Lippert (Porsche Cars North America, Inc./Porsche Financial Services, Inc.). The Alternative Dispute Resolution presentation was moderated by Taylor Mansell, Bankruptcy Section Member at Large (Shapiro, Pendergast and Hasty LLP) and the panelists included the Honorable Jeffrey W. Cavender, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Georgia and C. Edward Dobbs (Parker Hudson Rainer & Dobbs LLP).


The CLE was followed by the David W. Pollard Award Luncheon. This year the David W. Pollard Achievement Award was presented to Alison Elko Franklin (Dentons US LLP).  Alison Elko Franklin is a past Chair of the Bankruptcy Section and has been integral to the Bankruptcy Section’s success and expanding the volunteer opportunities for our members while on the Board. Under her leadership, the Bankruptcy Section received three awards from the Atlanta Bar Association: the Community Service Award, the Pro Bono Award, and the Small Section of the Year Award. 


On May 8, 2019, members of the Bankruptcy Section Board also participated in a volunteer event at Agape Youth & Family Center where they served dinner to school-age children from under-served families.  


Save the Date

·         Summer Associate Day at the Bankruptcy Court, June 25, 2019, 3:00 p.m.

·         Bankruptcy Law Section Social, June 25, 2019, 5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.


Board of Directors

The Officers and Board members for the 2019-2020 year are: Melissa J. Davey (Chair), Bruce Walker (Chair-Elect), Gregory Taube (Secretary), Doroteya Wozniak (Treasurer), Vania Allen (Immediate Past Chair), Michael Bargar, Ashley Champion, Taylor Mansell, Gai Lynn McCarthy, Aimee Pickett Sanders, and CC Schnapp (Members at Large). 


Contact Us

If you have proposals for Bankruptcy Section activities or projects, please contact any of the officers or board members.  We look forward to another great year and welcome your participation. 


Tags:  bankruptcy  bankruptcy section  bankruptcy update 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal