Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Bankruptcy Section
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (22) posts »

The Atlanta Lawyer Bankruptcy Update: August/September 2019

Posted By Jordan Coleman, Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Bankruptcy Section

By Doroteya N. Wozniak

James Bates Brannan Groover LLP


By Alexandra "CC" Schnapp

U.S. Bankruptcy Court


On June 25, 2019, the Bankruptcy Section hosted a Summer Associate Day at the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia. The event was very well attended with over 30 summer associates from local law firms participating. The summer associates were provided with the opportunity to observe an argument before the Honorable Jeffrey W. Cavender and hear remarks from the Honorable Paul W. Bonapfel, the Honorable Jeffrey W. Cavender, the Honorable Lisa Ritchey Craig, and the Honorable Sage M. Sigler. The summer associates were also invited to tour the participating judges’ chambers and courtrooms. 

The Summer Associate Day at the Bankruptcy Court was followed by a Summer Social at No Mas Cantina. The Summer Social was  also attended by over 30 section members, including a number of bankruptcy judges. During the Summer Social, summer associates were able to meet with experienced practitioners and learn more about the Atlanta bankruptcy bar over light appetizers and cocktails. 

Section Breakfast
Registration is now open for the next Bankruptcy Section Breakfast, which will take place on Thursday, September 26, 2019, from 7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. The event will be held at the offices of Arnall Golden Gregory LLP. The breakfast will include a presentation on The Automatic Stay and the Discharge Injunction following Taggart v. Lorenzen. Matt Berry (Berry & Associates), and Vanessa Leo, (Shapiro Pendergast & Hasty LLP), will present; the panel will be moderated by Alexandra "CC" Schnapp (U.S Bankruptcy Court, Law Clerk to Chief Bankruptcy Judge Wendy L. Hagenau). We hope you will join us. 

Save the Date
Please save the date for our Fall Social on October 17, 2019! The annual gathering will be held at Sweetwater Brewing. Mark your calendar to enjoy beer and BBQ at Atlanta’s favorite brewery.

Board of Directors
The Officers and Board members for the 2019-2020 year are: Melissa J. Davey (Chair), Bruce Walker (Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect), Gregory Taube (Secretary), Doroteya Wozniak (Treasurer), Vania Allen (Immediate past Chair), and Michael Bargar, Ashley Champion, Alaina C. Joseph, Taylor Mansell,  Gai Lynn McCarthy, Aimee Pickett Sanders, and Alexandra “CC” Schnapp (Members at Large).  


Contact Us

If you have proposals for Bankruptcy Section activities or projects, please contact any of the officers or board members.  We look forward to another great year and welcome your participation. 



Tags:  bankruptcy  bankruptcy section  bankruptcy update 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal